LISTENING

CHILDBIRTHWomen’s Rights. I first learned about Childbirth when I was listening to Chastity Belt and Tacocat, two Seattle post-punk (what does this word even mean?) bands. Childbirth consists of one of the guitarists from Chastity Belt, the bassist from Tacocat, and the drummer from Pony Time. Their first album – It’s a Girl! – has catchy and hilarious songs. There new album is just as funny (e.g., “More Fertile Than You“).

Fave song: “Let’s Be Bad.”

 

WATCHING

Another busy week of watching things. I think my mind goes through ebbs and flows of desired artistic inputs, and recently it’s been on a film kick. On Saturday, I watch The Skeleton Twins and American Ultra. Both were incredibly entertaining. The Skeleton Twins leaves Netflix in, like, 1 second, so watch it quick if you haven’t and think you might want to. I like seeing Bill Hader and Kristen Wiig in more dramatic roles because even though they are playing characters with serious issues, they bring comedic beats in really organic ways that makes the drama seem more realistic to me. American Ultra was just super fun to watch. Jesse Eisenberg brings his anxious, neurotic A-game. Connie Britton is badass (I dug the conflict/dynamic with her young, male superior played by Topher Grace). Nice action and decent twists. The way it ends suggests they may do a sequel, which I would probably watch because I believe it would be entertaining. Lastly, I binge-watched How To Get Away With Murder in like 2 days, and all I can say is WHAT THE EFF?!? THIS SHOW IS WAY BETTER THAN I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE. You should really check it out. Better than Scandal (I know that’s not saying much, but like, try it out…).

 

READING

Binge watching How To Get Away With Murder has not been very good for my reading quotas. I started reading 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami. I’m worried it’s too long because I’m a weakling slow reader and get discouraged by really long books. But I’ve also heard it’s really good and I’ll read really long things if they’re captivating. We shall see…

