LISTENING

I haven’t been exploring new music lately – or at least, I haven’t been finding new music that I’ve really really liked – but I have revisited an old podcast I listened to last fall/winter. Love + Radio.

The format of the episodes has changed slightly since the beginning of the podcast. I think the early episodes were mostly a collection of people being interview and thus telling stories their stories pertaining to a specific theme (e.g. the episode “Insane vs. Unsane,” which is amazing). But I think as the podcast became more popular, they were able to get very interesting people that occupied the space of a full episode (e.g. “The Wisdom of Jay Thunderbolt” or “The Magical World of Eva Julia Christiie“). I have not nearly listened to all of them. Like I said, I kind of dropped off my listening in the spring and summer, but just this last week I listened to a recent episode – “Bride of the Sea” – about a Scottish/Libyan man’s fight in the Libyan civil war. What I love best about this podcast is the editing and the use of sound. I can tell the creators put exquisite detail into the crafting of the sound and I, a listener, appreciate it.

WATCHING

Literally, I watched nothing last week. Too busy with writing and reading. So… I’ll just leave you with this link to the trailer for the newest Steve Job’s biopic coming out at the end of October, which I hope to see then, because: Michael Fassbender.

READING

Copenhagen, a play by Michael Frayn. At Princeton’s admitted student’s weekend (or orientation week; I can’t remember which), I watched three students perform a snippet of this play and was totally captivated. The blending of scientific concepts and human emotion/behavior seemed really awesome to me. It partially inspired me to, during freshman year, write a comedic play with quantum theory in it, which won second place at Princeton’s Science Playwriting Competition. So when I got the opportunity to buy this book from someone at school, I did it (or maybe I got it for free; I can’t completely remember). It’s a play about Niels Bohr, Werner Heisenberg, and Margrethe Bohr. I was familiar with the science surrounding quantum theory, but much less so the history. Reading this play made me realize how tension-filled this period of scientific discovery was, what with the rush to understand fission because of WWII and with friends on different political sides being pitted against each other. It was an incredibly quick read. I would recommend it to anyone with scientific and/or existential theatre leanings.

