LISTENING

Missy and Santi. Last week, Santigold came out with a new, extremely up-beat and self-loving single: “Can’t Get Enough of Myself.” And this week Missy Elliott came out with a new single and video: “WTF (Where They From).” Both make me want to just get up and dance around*. Also, the WTF video is great. Always amazing dancing in the Missy Elliott videos. I like Missy Elliott and Sanitgold’s music and respect them both as artists, so it’s nice they’ve finally got new stuff coming out! Hopefully both these albums will be fun to listen to when they come out later this year / early next year.

WATCHING

Crystal Fairy & the Magical Cactus (Silva, 2013) is leaving Netflix on November 19th, so I watched that this weekend. It was better than I expected it to be, but it’s still hard to watch at times because Michael Cera and Gaby Hoffmann star as awkward people who do not read social cues very well. Cera is overly anxious and high-strung about things, which causes him to constantly be clashing with Hoffman, who is really chill and granola. Overall, I think the coolest thing about this movie is that it’s set in Chile; written and directed by Sebastian Silva, a Chilean director; and features his real life brothers as his brothers in the film. So the film feels very authentic. It was also cool to see the Chilean landscape because now I want to go to there.

READING

I finished Candide! And will be starting The Blacks: A Clown Show by Jean Genet. Senior year of high school we read Tom Stoppard’s Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead and it got me really interested in theatre of the absurd. I read several plays as part of my senior English thesis, including Boesman and Lena, Seascape, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf, The Birthday Party, and The Dumbwaiter. I bought The Blacks: A Clown Show, but never actually got around to reading it. I’m curious what I will think reading it now – as opposed to senior year of high school – as someone more tuned-in to racism / microaggressions / problematic representations of minorities. The original New York production featured Maya Angelou as the White Queen, so I’m hoping that’s a good sign…
*The Pharrell rap on “WTF” is pretty bad though. I wish someone would make an enhanced cut of that song and just cut him out.

