LISTENING

I actually listened to this a couple weeks ago, but I feel I must share it because it’s just so great: Carrie Brownstein’s interview on All Songs Considered +1.

I don’t think I’ve ever listened to an interview with someone in which I connected with 100% of what they said. I was literally thinking yes about each point she was making.

I also don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone use as many big words in beautifully crafted sentences as much as Carrie Brownstein. If I ever met her, that’s probably what I’d ask: “how did you learn all these big words and how do you find a way to use them in casual conversation?”

I think I will probably save this interview on my podcasts app and just re-listen to it whenever I need… inspiration? Understanding? To feel like my thoughts are not isolated strands in an empty void?

 

WATCHING

Addicted to Fresno (Babbit, 2015). Before learning about this film, I read an interview between stars Judy Greer (Cheryl/Carol on Archer, Kitty on Arrested Development, numerous other things) and Natasha Lyonne (Nicky Nichols on Orange is the New Black, numerous other things) and was intrigued by the fact that their roles are the reverse of what you would expect.

In most movies/show, Lyonne plays the out-of-control character while Greer plays the par-for-the-course mother or sister or friend (her roles on Archer and Arrested Development obviously excluded). But in this film, they’re actually the opposite. Lyonne plays the sister who’s got it all together while Greer is falling apart and dragging Lyonne with her. The film stays entertaining because it’s a caper – in like, 24 hours they need to get enough money for a cremation. If you’re into that genre – hilarious over the top elements of reality – I would say check this out.

Fave moment: It shouldn’t be, I feel like it’s problematic to people who suffer from seizures, but… At one point Lyonne needs to distract partygoers while Greer steals money and so Lyonne pretends to be choking. But she can’t keep up that charade as long as Greer needs her to, so Lyonne stops choking but then almost immediately starts having a seizure. And she looks SO REAL. I was laughing uncontrollably.

 

READING

I’m in the middle of this book about Ludwig Wittgenstein and Karl Popper. It’s called Wittgenstein’s Poker – by David Edmonds and John Eidinow – and it’s “about” a ten-minute conversation between the two philosophers where at some point Wittgenstein maybe waved a fireplace poker in Popper’s face. Anyway, it’s 300 pages, but I’m already almost halfway through because it flows so nicely.

I say it’s “about” the conversation because, although that’s the hook/introduction, the section of the book I just read was mostly about the two philosophers’ Austrian origins and their struggles during the rise of Nazism (both were Jewish). So I learned a little about WWII that I did not previously know. Like how things were really really really bad in Austria because of rampant anti-Semitism. The Sound of Music neglected to mention that…

Anyway, I’m hoping it will get more into philosophy (I’m sure it will), because that was the whole impetus for me purchasing the book. I wanted to get a fairly easily digestible introduction to Wittgenstein’s theories.

