LISTENING

Serial, Season 2. Like the rest of the world, I was captivate by Serial’s first season investigation of the murder of Hae Min Lee and trial of Adnan Syed. So I planned to tune in to season 2. I’m less interested in the story of Bowe Bergdahl; after one episode of season 1, I was hooked on each new episode, whereas so far with season 2, I’m like: “I’ll listen when I feel like it.” HOWEVER, I place trust in the producers of Serial and will let Sarah Koenig’s voice lead my ears wherever she desires they go.

WATCHING (SPOILERS)

DUH: STAR WARS EPISODE VII: THE FORCE AWAKENS (J. J. Abrahms, 2015). ‘Twas fun. Dig the new characters Poe (handsome), Finn (hilarious), and Rey (badass). It’s a great time to be a girl. Rey is the best. Loved two moments from her: (1) when Finn kept trying to hold her hand and she was like “what the f**k are you doing, I can run without you holding my hand,” and (2) when she uses the force to pull the lightsaber out of the snow. Definitely there was also a lot of cheesiness/sentimentality that I’m less inclined to, but that’s Star Wars. Also, Lupita Nyong’o was awesome. I hope her character (Maz Kanata) comes back.

I also began watching Netflix’s Marvel’s Jessica Jones and it is also very cool. The one thing I can’t stand is how many opportunities Jessica and her friends had to kill Kilgrave (the villain) and never did they kill him (again, I’m not done with the season, so maybe they do at the end, but like come on, it’s ridiculous). This dude can make people do whatever he wants (and this power has killed many people) and you want to try to bring him to “justice.” Nope. Just kill him. That’s what I would do.

 

READING

Nothing new. Just finishing up my book on Ludwig Wittgenstein and Karl Popper.

