LISTENING

I’m addicted to radio drama/fiction, so when a friend recommended Limetown, I checked it out and binge listened. It’s significantly longer than The Message, but that doesn’t matter. Whereas The Message was like a fictional amateur/fan podcast that just happened to be covering a major news event, Limetown plays out more like a fictional Serial, with the reporter/host Lia Haddock investigating events that occurred at Limetown 10 years ago: hundreds of people in a town created for neuroscience researched disappeared without a trace following 3 days of violence. Ever episode ends with a creepy, dramatic cliffhanger as Lia slowly gets pulled deeper into the mysteries surrounding Limetown.

Honestly, it was awesome. It was thoroughly entertaining and I hope – since it kind of ended on a semi-cliffhanger – they have a season 2. SPOILER: Lia Haddock gets [taken? kidnapped?] at the end of season 1, so season 2 would maybe be another reporter doing another podcast about investigating trying to find Lia Haddock. And then THAT reporter can get [taken? kidnapped?] and then season 3 is ANOTHER reporter trying to figure out what’s going on. And then ad infinitum it’s just a nested for-loop of investigation. I think that would make for a good parody podcast of these types of fiction podcasts.

DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY GOOD SUGGESTIONS FOR MORE RADIO DRAMA/FICTION? BECAUSE I’M REALLY CRAVING SOME MORE!

 

WATCHING

Nothing great really. Several movies are expiring on Netflix soon so I watched:

An Amish Murdera Lifetime Original Movie, IDK I was bored and sick and thought why not. It wasn’t bad, but I wouldn’t really recommend it to anyone unless they like Lifetime Original Movies, in which case they’ve probably already watched it…

17 Girls: a French movie written and directed by sisters Delphine and Muriel Coulin who based their screenplay off of the real life Pregnancy Pact event (which, coincidentally, Lifetime also made into a Lifetime Original Movie call The Pregnancy Pact, so I guess I sort of watched two Lifetime Original Movies this week…). It’s not bad, but it’s not great, specifically the ending left me feeling cheated, kind of disillusioned.

iZombie: an American series (based off a comic) about a woman who used to be a driven individual in medical school, but then got turned into a zombie and had to give up that part of her life to become a medical examiner with easy access to brains. It’s actually not bad, good for when you just want to decompress, and in the vacuum that is no new episodes of TV during the holiday season, it was much needed. It’s very film and TV self-referential, which I appreciate as a film and TV nerd. (Also, it’s not expiring anytime soon. So you can watch it!)

 

READING

I finished The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin. HOLY MOLY THAT WAS SO GOOD. In my post last week, I wrote about how it wasn’t really doing it for me. But then I totally got hooked. I think I just got into the main characters (Genly Ai and Estraven [Estrogen? Nice try Le Guin…]) and the drama caused by their differences and misunderstandings that it didn’t matter to me that there was all this background world building that confused me. Like I’m still not really sure about the world Gethen (the different regions, the politics of the countries, shifgrethor), but it doesn’t really matter to me. I know some people really like world building (I usually do), but in TLHoD it was just too confusing to me. But this confusion ended up not hindering my experience because what I enjoyed most was the ideas and philosophy borne out of Genly Ai and Estraven’s conversations and friendship.

I really don’t know what to say about the book, or how to praise it, other than saying that there were many passages I underlined and highlighted and made comments about because I found the words or the ideas intriguing or beautiful. I’m excited to read The Dispossessed sometime in the future. Judging by how fast (I’m a slow reader, so finishing a book in a week is actually really fast for me) I devoured The Left Hand of Darkness, I’m expecting to enjoy The Dispossessed as well.

