LISTENING

I like listening to interviews with artists (filmmakers, musicians, writers) I admire. Recently I listened to an interview with Miranda July. What I liked about this interview was the interviewer (Jenn Brandel from Curious City) asked really well-crafted questions that were not just about one work or another, but about the whole of July’s career in a way that was clear Brandel knew and admired most of July’s work. Although it was a conversation, the two never really talked about Brandel’s work, but her public media background came across in the type of questions she asked: really focused on how certain Miranda July’s pieces incorporate audience in fresh ways.

Even though I’ve only digested two pieces of Miranda July art (Me and You and Everyone We Know and The Last Bad Man; I tried to do her app Somebody, but it didn’t really work living in Taiwan) the interview made me really want to go explore more of her work ASAP. I also really appreciated when July talked about her early work in audio. She said she began with audio projects mainly because she wanted to do films but had no idea how to do film and was intimidated by the task, seeing audio production as easier accessible. I likewise would like to make films but have started getting more into audio production for that same reason!

 

WATCHING

HOW IS IT 2016 AND I’VE JUST NOW REALIZED THE LEGEND OF KORRA IS A SHOW THAT’S GOOD AND ENGAGING TO WATCH AND BADASS?!?!

In the hotel in Tacloban City, we were free in the evenings having eaten early so we could be back at our hotel before it got dark. Well the TV channels included Nick and once my Dad fell asleep and I could change the channel from whatever he was watching, I scrolled through the channels and stopped on The Legend of Korra because why not? And it was rad! Nick played several episodes NON STOP. No commercial breaks. No breaks between episodes. So I binge watched for maybe 1.5 hours until Nick stopped playing it. Then the next night the marathon resumed! Sadly, it concluded with the series finale. So I’ve seen the end. Now I need to see the beginning (Books 1-3)!

 

READING

I finished Beloved and insist that that is an amazing book that everyone should read. I wanted to start reading Touch Me Not, a book by Jose Rizal, the national hero of the Philippines. But the book was not in sale in ANY of the 5 book stores I went to to try and purchase the book. So that sucks. I’ll have to order it online. I did however pick up several other books by Filipin@ authors (including the sequel to Touch Me Not, El Filibusterismo) Hopefully I will read them sooner rather than later. Three books of verse, one novel, and one collection of short stories.

