FullSizeRender
A rough thumbnail.

When I was an RCA (residential college advisor) at Princeton, we brainstormed once about how we could talk about diversity with our freshmen. A lot of people, when they think of diversity, think of non-white skin colors, exotic last names, or foods that you couldn’t find in the typical American restaurant.

Okay, but, that’s not diversity at all. Each person has been exposed to a unique set of experiences that gives them a different outlook on their present reality. This is diversity;  the different ways individuals interpret our shared reality. It’s damaging to all of us if we think one has to have a non-white skin color or an exotic name to add to diversity.

So this thought has been turning over in my head. I want to examine how individuals’ experiences shape their identities and how those identities inform their reality. I’m also interested in gaining experience interviewing people and cutting together interviews, so this seems like the perfect way to do it. Each episode would be one interview only, and it would be an edited-down version of the longer chat, maybe 15-20 minutes, getting to the real heart of the interview.

There’s no time frame on this. This is something I want to continue to do everywhere I go. Not just in Taiwan, not just in the U.S., but anywhere there are people will to talk to me (in person). If you’re interested, hit me up.

