How is gaze established? Obviously I’ve seen many films that employ the male-gaze, including the overt full-body pan shots of females and their bodies for consumption, but what are the examples of more subtle male-gaze. I ask because I’m curious how films could use the female-gaze. Obviously a film could just use the same techniques on male characters instead of female ones, but as I can only really think of these overt examples, I feel like the reverse (so full body shot of male characters as they’re putting on suntan lotion, for example) can sometimes illicit a more comedic affect since it’s such a reversal of the traditional male-gaze. Are there films that subtle employ the female-gaze? Definitely, but I’d like to study them more specifically. So if anyone has any examples, please comment!

