*So tired. Haven’t slept much this weekend. Geel like my brain is in soup. Words do not sound good.

LISTENING

I started listening to a new podcast recently: Nocturne. It’s very interesting. The creator, herself a day person fascinated by night, spends each episode interviewing someone that has something to say about nighttime. Perhaps a truck driver who crashed into a sinkhole. Or a woman who’s circadian rhythm is reversed: she sleeps in the day and is awake at night. It’s not amazing stuff, but it’s interesting. And the production quality is very high. I think Nocture is great to listen to as one is winding down for bed. Something about Venessa Lowe’s voice – it’s like she’s whispering – makes it ideal for relaxing. So it is enjoyable to listen to.

It’s also informative as I myself am starting an interview podcast (Identity). So as I’m listening I’m making mental notes of things I don’t like about the style. Unlike Love + Radio, which generally has all the audio spoken from the interviewee, Venessa Lowe offers up a decent amount of host narration to complement her subjects. It’s not bad, I think I just like the Love + Radio style better, which is good to know.

 

WATCHING

Despite the fact that both of these films came out MONTHS AGO in the U.S., we in Taiwan only just recently got Carol (Haynes, 2015) and Room (Abrahamson, 2015). So I watched both this weekend and thoroughly enjoyed them. Having read The Price of Salt in 2014, I knew the plot of Carol, but still found it engaging. I feel like a huge part of that is because of the excellence of the directing and the acting. But I think another part is that it felt like the film emphasized the theme of self and self-determination more strongly than the book, probably because the point-of-view in a movie cannot be the same as in a book. Like, reading the book I really got the psychological obsession vibe. But watching the movie, while that was there, it felt much more subtle, allowing for the accentuation of self-determination. For example, scenes like Therese’s breakdown in the car and Carol’s breakdown/assertion in the lawyer’s office, I didn’t remember as strong in the book as they are in the film. So I appreciated the self theme.

I was afraid to watch Room because I worried it would just be too much. I’m glad I ended up watching it though because it was very interesting. The acting was great and the screenplay just as good. I liked that it was from the child Jack’s perspective. I think that’s what made the horror much more palatable. And I loved the theme behind it. Sorry this is not very eloquent. I am tired. But also I find it funny that the same guy that director Room also directed Frank. So interesting.

 

READING

I have not really read anything lately because I am lazy.

 

