LISTENING

Nothing new, although I went walking in Taipei. It was Saturday morning and I was exhausted from a late Friday night. And I was walking to various appointments and get-togethers. And I didn’t feel like listening to anything strong, you know? When your mind is tired and it just wants something soothing. I don’t know why I thought this would be soothing, but I decided to plug my earphones in and listen to Philip Glass‘ Koyaanisqatsi soundtrack.

It’s really eerie and weird to listen to this while walking around in a city. It’s almost like the soundtrack to your walk. I would recommend trying it some time. At the very least listen to the soundtrack. It’s good rest music.

 

WATCHING

I was out Saturday evening with the intention of seeing The Hateful Eight (Tarantino, 2015), but it was SOLD OUT. I also wanted to see The Lobster (Lanthimos, 2015), but it was SOLD OUT TOO! So I saw How To Be Single (Ditter, 2016). I joked with my friend, “is it bad to go see How To Be Single alone?” and she said it would only be lame if I had a pencil and paper and took notes, so I did not do that.

The film was alright. There were definitely some great laugh out loud moments. But there were also some jokes that did not land, at all. Overall I think the film suffered most from trying to put too much into the 109 minute run-time. It was fun, but not great.

 

READING

I stopped reading Orlando. I just couldn’t get into it. I’ve started reading Jonathan Kern’s Sound Reporting: The NPR Guide to Audio Journalism and Production. I got it because it was technically my textbook for the audio journalism class I took senior year. Since I’m getting deeper into this territory with my Identity podcast and perhaps will try to pursue audio reporting when I get back in the U.S., I figure I should read the book. I’m about halfway in and it’s quite nice. Quick read. Insightful.

