LISTENING

TANIS is a podcast from the same people who make The Black Tapes. They advertised for TANIS on The Black Tapes, but the description sounded vague and also I knew it was hosted by Nic who I found to be kind of annoying on The Black Tapes. So I thought I wouldn’t like it. But recently I finished all the current episodes of The Black Tapes so I found myself giving TANIS a try, and am glad I did.

TANIS is much better than The Black Tapes, in my opinion. While The Black Tapes is concerned with Dr. Richard Strand and elements of supernatural horror like demons, ghosts, and the devil, TANIS is similarly supernatural, but a much more believable (for me at least, and thus, less cheezy) type of supernatural. It’s about the myth of TANIS, which I’m pretty sure the creators of the show just made up. But that myth is very interesting. TANIS is supposedly a place that keeps moving every ~400 years (now supposedly in the Pacific Northwest) and that has the ability to tap into other dimensions. Some people are trying to find it and others are trying to keep it hidden. I find this more fascinating than demons.

The only annoying thing about TANIS is even though the fictional podcast is set up in a serialized, documentary style, the host/producer Nic seems incredibly daft some times. During Serial, Sarah Koenig will every once and a while synthesize the information we have and draw conclusions (like: “Here’s what I think…”). On TANIS, it feels like Nic just throws anecdotes at us without trying to tie many threads together.  Threads are naturally annealing as the show progresses, but Nic is quick to be like, “is this a coincidence? Or not?” or just not acknowledge the apparent connection at all. I think this highlights the fact that this is fiction and I wish they tried to be more real.

 

WATCHING

Touchy Feely (Shelton, 2013). It was alright. Not bad. Not great. Good considering my internet was down and I rented/downloaded it while at work so I could watch it at home.

 

READING

Still chugging along through the NPR Sound Reporting book.

