LISTENING

I stumbled upon an xray.fm show called Strange Babes, a DJ trio in Portland. I heard of this episode – “We Could Be Heroes” – because they had special guest star Janet Weiss (of Sleater-Kinney).

Anyway, it was thoroughly enjoyable because they played a wide variety of really cool stuff. The first third of the 2-hour long program was some old school stuff from the 60s/70s/80s. A lot of soul stuff. Sister Nancy’s “Only Woman DJ With Degree” caught my attention, as well as “Don’t Call Her No Tramp” by Betty Davis and “Think (About It)” by Lyn Collins.

Later they get into more post-punk stuff like Kleenex, Lithics, and The Breeders. Overall, it’s a really rad two hours of music you should check out.

WATCHING

My internet wasn’t working for a spell last week, so I re-watched Mean Girls (Waters, 2004), which I have a copy of on my external hard drive. It’s so weird to think how old this movie is. Re-watching it now I realized how awkward a lot of the comedy is. It doesn’t feel like it flows the way it ought to, BUT, I still laughed out loud many many times. Janice Ian is way more problematic then I ever imagined in 2004, but whatever. Still funny.

 

READING

Still reading Some Prefer Nettles. Still enjoyable, just not one of those “I can’t put it down!” books.

