LISTENING

Have you ever been listening to music and thought you heard one song, but it was really another? I was listened to my Spotify Discovery playlist AGAIN and began hearing a song. Immediately I thought: oh, this is “Not Wrong” by Penny Machine, an Oakland band that shortly disbanded after their 2014 self-titled release. JUST KIDDING. It was actually Flux of Pink Indians, a UK band from the 80s. The song – “Tube Disaster” – is from the 1982 album Strive to Survive Causing Least Suffering Possible. I swear, the bass work on “Tube Disaster” feels so much like the bass work on the entire s/t album from Penny Machine.

I listened to more of the Flux of Pink Indians discography but detected nothing sounding similar to “Tube Disaster”. So I would not say if you like Penny Machine you should check out Flux of Pink Indians or vice-versa. Just a cool, brief sonic connection*.

(I would embed these tracks but WordPress is being funky with the non-YouTube embeds right now…)

 

WATCHING

Grace and Frankie Season 2. I really enjoyed Season 1 last year and Season 2 did not disappoint. Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin are hilarious in opposition. These women are in their seventies and really prove AGE IS A NUMBER because the show is so funny and dynamic. And I’m even more excited for Season 3 than I was for Season 2 because it appears Grace and Frankie are going to open a business making vibrators for older women who have arthritis and thus can’t use mainstream vibrators.

 

READING

I finished Some Prefer Nettles and it was interesting, but I don’t think I’ll read another Junichiro Tanizaki. His style in this book (which may not be his style in all his books, but I suspect it is) is very slow. It feels like those art house films that are kind of just like a character observation. It felt like nothing happened and what I was getting from the book was more of an examination of a way of life for this upper class Japanese family in the 1920s. Struggling between East and West principles, old and new. Thus it was interesting, because I’d never read or watched anything about this period in Japan. Particularly the narrators distinctions between “Osaka-style” and “Tokyo-style”. In every chapter there were these intra-Japanese comparisons and it was interesting to see this from a Japanese perspective.

Now I’m trying to read Camus’ The Fall. The back cover is very non-explanatory. Is is about the fall of man? (Probably, but also it it) About fall the season? About the 1980s post-punk band? About that one time Camus fell? We shall see…

*Speaking of sonic connections, don’t you Bonobo’s “Prelude/Kiara” sounds like “Wings” from The Fall?

